Kahn – Flipping the Classroom

Of the TED talks given last week, this is the one of the ones I was anticipating the most. Human interaction is crucial to learning, but that interaction is just part of it. Can a robot or youtube video do my job? Only if I stand in front of the class the whole time and lecture. Sure, listening is an action, but doing something more interactive like student-student or student-teacher is a much more valuable use of their time. I had a few colleagues come back from the NAIS conference recently and really liked Sal Kahn both as a speaker and what he had to say. It really shifts the paradigm of traditional schooling, but as an educator, it also makes sense in many ways. I still need to explore Kahn Academy’s website and materials more thoroughly, but after this talk, I’m convinced I really need to. Best of all, it’s all free!

2 thoughts on “Kahn – Flipping the Classroom

  1. Pingback: blog flipping

  2. Speaking in front of many audience can really boost up your confidence to the highest level. And being in front is not an easy one if you are not well prepared of the things that you will give. you will do some of the techniques that you knew that will enhanced the audience from not falling a sleep.

Leave a comment