What Would You Be?

“If a year from now you weren’t in the profession you’re currently in, what would you be in your wildest dreams?” The month-long writing prompts for reflections based on Ralph Waldo Emerson quotes have ended, and I wasn’t able to keep up with a post a day.  Nonetheless, I found the quotes very meaningful and indeed prompted reflection, even if I didn’t write it all down. The group responsible for the website has decided to continue posting prompts (even without the Emerson quotes), and the above question seemed like a difficult one to respond to.

I find it hard to respond to that prompt because even if I were to leave teaching, I would pursue something in administration, consulting, or higher-ed. Nonetheless, it would fall within the parameters of the education profession. Here’s why: It’s what I know. It’s what I love. It’s what I think I do well and can continue to get better at. It gives me purpose which is to make learning both meaningful and relevant (both for students and teachers).

Maybe I don’t dream that wildly, but even if I won one of those ‘set for life’ lotteries, I would not quit my day job.  Perhaps writing a children’s novel would be something I’d pursue. Years ago, I wrote one. It’s awful, and I won’t show it to anyone. It was merely an exercise to see if I could get myself through the process and write 30,000-50,000 words. One of these days I may try again.

The world of education is vast, and who knows what a year will bring? I’ve also learned not to say never, because we all evolve, and we all continue learning. Who knows what tomorrow brings (other than some fireworks, food, and friends), let alone a year.

Calendar by Nenad S. Lazich for Smashing Magazine

Leave a Reply

