These Are a Few of My Favorite Tech Sites for Teachers

Someone once asked where I get some of my ideas. The answer is the web, but more specifically, from other educators who blog. It took a year of blogging before I used the time during this mid-winter break to explore twitter. I have to admit, it’s an incredibly great tool. I have a lot more to learn about it in order to build a meaningful pln. A lot of new technology requires one to be resourceful and teach themselves how to use it. There was no training in setting up this blog, creating my class website, and using tech in the classroom in meaningful ways. What it does take though is time. Time to explore, discover, play, and share. Some of the things I’ve learned about or learned how to do through videos on the web have all been through other educators. Educators eager to share their passions about making learning more engaging for kids. Here are some of my favorite blogs and websites regarding tech. There are others more focused on ed. news, but I’ll get to them another day.

International Society for Technology in Education

Tech&Learning

Free Technology For Teachers

Teach Paperless

Edutopia

iLearn Technology

The Apple

Thinkfinity

Kleinspiration

and of course all the teachers and parents I work with who willingly share and point out useful resources.

With tech and learning, I have a few concerns:

  • it has to be meaningful and meet the main objectives
  • it has to be engaging
  • so many of the cool web 2.0 sites area all startups and who knows when or if they’ll go out of business or be swallowed by a larger company.
  • it takes time to vet all these sites and ideas and figure out how best to use and integrate them in the classroom

Paper and pencil activities, creating and working with concrete models, and face to face discussions and interactions all remain valuable tools in learning, enhancing these with technology must be done so with care.

Leave a Reply

