Being Able to Put Things Away

Last night I went to a rock concert and the moment the band hit the stage, hands were raised in the air with cell phones and cameras. It’s the age we live in, I suppose, but just like asking children to be responsible and put their supplies or toys away, we as adults need to do the same thing.

There was a point in the concert where one of the singers spoke to the crowd and told them all to put their cameras and cell phones down and stop trying to preserve the moment for the future and enjoy the moment for now.

I am a huge proponent of technology in the classroom, but I believe we need to model turning it off and putting it away when it’s not appropriate.

I’ve had to learn this myself and basically have turned off all email notifications on my phone and computer for email. I will check it certain times during the day and will respond accordingly, but when I’m with my class, they don’t need to even hear the “you’ve got mail” notifications either.

As I said, I am not afraid of using technology in the classroom, but it should be purposeful and increase achievement. I can think of a million uses and in trying to reduce paper as a school, I’m trying to use my notepad on my phone or laptop at meetings, etc. I even asked in my parent update this week for any old iphones to be donated to the classroom: no bites yet. Next, I want to build a website for parents to communicate as I think email is becoming overused, and too persistent.

By the way, it was an incredible concert, and well worth the outing on a school night. It was indeed a memorable moment without any grainy footage from my cell phone.

It’s easy to get caught up in technology, but setting limits for yourself, is good practice and modeling for children.

The band’s name is Scissor Sisters and one of the lead singers, Jake Shears has a bit of a Seattle history. If you ‘re not familiar with them. you’re not alone. An american band, they play rather smaller venues here, but across the pond they can sell out Wembly, Bercy, or O2 for multiple lights

Here is video of their latest single: Fire with Fire.

I can’t seem to figure out how to embed Vevo videos into wordpress yet, but in the meantime here’s the link:

http://www.vevo.com/watch/scissor-sisters/fire-with-fire/GBUV71000724

2 thoughts on “Being Able to Put Things Away

  1. I was there last night as well and agree with you on two points: It was an incredible concert and adults get so caught up with capturing the moment via their iPhones they completely miss living in the moment as it occurs. I thought Ana’s message to the crowd was very apt.

  2. Thanks for your comment, Matt. I’ve had to learn to turn off email notifications, or not to have Outlook running when I’m teaching. It makes a huge difference to focus on a single task. I’m hoping I can get my students to do that too.

Leave a Reply

