Bitter-sweet

“agreeable or pleasant with an alloy of pain or unpleasantness” (OED)

Today was the last day of the school year. Wishing each of my students a wonderful summer is actually one of the hardest things for me. As joyous an occasion as it is to let them go, it is also a painful one.

My guilty pleasure on TV this season was Glee, and like the school year coming to an end, the season finale reminded me about the importance of what educators do. Yes, there’s a robust curriculum to teach, but in the end, it’s about the relationships we build. If you’ve seen the original movie, perhaps the song “To Sir With Love” might choke you up a bit. Glee’s update was wonderful too. I may never live up to the characters Mr. Schuster or Mark Thackeray (Sir), but I hope in some small way, I played a little part in my students’ growth this year. They certainly played a big part in mine.

The former fifth graders at Epiphany will all head to different middle schools in the fall, and they left us today singing one of my favorite Green Day songs (I have many) – Good Riddance. My favorite line from that song: “For what it’s worth, it was worth all the while.”

Leave a Reply

